August 2017 Reading Summary

 

This month I read 17 books. 16 shown above and also the (very) short story of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

I have rated and reviewed all of these books on my blog, although some reviews are not yet scheduled to be released due to the release dates of the books.

In the list above, I have ranked the books according to my favourites. This is not dependant on their ratings. Sometimes a book I rate 3 stars becomes a favourite or a book I rated 5 stars falls lower down the list.

Before I go on to talk about some of the books, here is the compiled lists of where these books came from:

7 from Netgalley
3 from the Library
1 from the Author as an Advanced Reading Copy
3 from iBooks
2 from Personal Collection

My favourite book of August was one from NetGalley, suggested to me by a friend over in book club, who is also a NetGalley member. Counting Wolves by Michael F Stewart is a book that combines mental health with fairytales. Set in a psychiatric ward, this story is so powerful I couldn’t put it down. Read my full review here.

The Doll House by Phoebe Morgan was the second crime thriller I have recently read. I used to read them all the time, but when I found YA/Fantasy I sort of drifted away. This book, coupled with Memory Man by David Baldacci, has reawakened a love for this genre and I can’t wait to read some more. My full review will be available to read on my blog from 14th September 2017 when the book is officially released. (Check out my review of Memory Man here).

Sons of Anarchy Volume 4 was my favourite graphic novel of the month. I recently (earlier this year) finished watching the TV show and was (as many others were) completely and utterly heartbroken when it ended. This was the perfect way to carry on with a bit of SoA action. Read my review here.

Anyway, that’s it for this month, hit that follow button to be updated when I post 🙂

 

 

 

What do you think?

