Review: Sinful Cinderella

Sinful Cinderella (Dark Fairy Tale Queen Series - Book 1)Sinful Cinderella by Anita Valle

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m not who they think I am. A docile girl who meekly obeys her stepmother and stepsisters. Some kind of sick angel who cheerfully bears their mistreatment. That’s what I WANT them to think. Because then they won’t suspect what I’m really up to.
The ball, the prince – it’s all part of my plan to come out on top. Stepmother and her demented daughters will pay for every floor I have scoured, every sneer I have borne. They don’t know about the white magic, how I use it to enhance myself. They can’t see that my heart is black as midnight, rotten as a poisoned apple.
They’re about to find out.

A twist on the timeless tale of Cinderella, Sinful Cinders brings us a darker side to the beautiful princess we all grew up reading (and sympathising with) about.

(Highlight next paragraph to view spoilers)
Cinders uses “white magic” which she gains when she is nice to people (namely her terrible step sisters and step mother) to make wishes. Only small wishes, like changing the size of her feet or the colour of her eyes, but wishes all the same. But at the root of it all, Sinful Cinderella is not that much better than her horrible family members.
A prince who isn’t very princely soon shows her that not everything is as black & white and a revelation from her step mother tells us that maybe Cinders really is bad. What I felt about this was that it was plugged with so little importance that although it was supposed to be the main reason Cinders was dark, nothing more was really built upon it. And it occurs near the end of the story so it seemed to have been thrown in for effect.

This is a short but fairly decent retelling of the traditional story but I wish it was longer, maybe a bit more substance to some of the characters would have pushed this into a higher rating for me. That being said, I have added the second in this series to my TBR pile.
And although I mentioned that it brings a darker side, I would like to have seen this go a bit further, made her truly darker instead of just a little bit mean. I can almost sympathise with her being mean after the situation she has ended up in.

View all my reviews

What do you think?

